Archive for April 28th, 2010

28
Apr
10

Relax Riesling 2008

Over the years, it has become obvious that I have quite a Teutonic streak. I usually have one German obsession going at any given time. Werner Herzog, Popol Vuh, Kraftwerk, etc. I’ve been reading a little about German wines and my mother-in-law was in town and wanted a Riesling. Coincidence? I will find any reason to drink.

I’m not going to drink a lot of Rieslings, but this was a fun, fruity wine that went well with the warming days. This particular bottle was from the Schmitt Sohne label, who produces a lot of wines from the fatherland (uh, Germany). I wasn’t particularly fond of the packaging and branding attempt at all, but I forgive Europe all the time for more serious transgressions, so what the Hell.

Relax Riesling is fruity like a fresh peach and a tart apple. it did have a good acidity to cut through the sweetness, which sort of calms after a few sips. It smells of fruit peelings, which I really liked, and it coats the glass with an almost oil-like viscosity. It reminded my of a dry Muscadine.

If your looking for a wine for an outdoor party or cookout, grab a Riesling. Germany is really coming into its own, according to many experts (of which I am not). I am sure you will have fun with it, though.

3 out of 5 strikes.

(post by Tre)




April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Pages